Exceptional Education at the Heart of the Community

Exceptional Education at the Heart of the Community


We believe in a rigorous and structured approach to assessment.  All students are formally assessed three times a year (four times in Year 11), and receive grades as a projection towards the 9-1 GCSE grading scale.

Regular assessment provides up-to-date, accurate and objective information about students’ achievement to themselves, their parents and teachers.  Through informing next steps, the process of assessment will help to accelerate progress for all students.

Results from assessments are shared with parents in number of ways, including parents’ evenings and regular reports.

What is Progress 8?

Since 2016 all students and schools have been measured on how much progress they make from when they start Year 7 to when they complete their exams at the end of Year 11. It is based on progress across 8 subjects across a broad and balanced curriculum.

Scores will always be determined by dividing the student's points total by 10 (the 8 qualifications with English and Mathematics counting for double) regardless of how many qualifications are sat.

Below is a 3 minute video from the DfE to help explain Progress 8 further.

What is Attainment 8?

Attainment 8 is similar to Progress 8, however this measures attainment rather than progress accross the years over the same 8 subjects.

How does the new GCSE assessment system work?

Many of you will know that the courses and exams for GCSE students were recently changed. The reason is to ensure that young people have the knowledge and skills they need to suceed and be graded fairly. They cover more challenging content and are designed to match standards in the strongest educational systems throughout the world.

  • GCSEs in England will have a scale from 9 (the highest) to 1 (the lowest)
  • The old GCSE grading system do not directly compare, however alignments can be made between the letters A*-F and the Scale 9-1
  • They have been designed this way to differentiate between student performance, and support those students who sit at the top of their grade banding

Please see this short video from AQA to help you understand how the grade system translates.